Coleman County Courthouse

Coleman County Courthouse

Photo by Ralph Terry

 Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Coleman County would like to welcome you to our website!  We hope you find the resources and information that you are looking for, if not, please contact us and we will do our best to find it for you.

Texas A&M AgriLife Extension in Coleman County is dedicated to providing quality, relevant outreach and continuing educational programs and service to people of Coleman County.  Extension brings the resources of the Texas A&M University System to the citizens through field based faculty, educational programs, and technical assistance in the following programs: Agriculture, Family and Consumer Sciences; and 4-H and Youth Development.

Coleman County lies in the West Texas Rolling Prairie of the North Central Plains. The North Central Plains is an extension of the Great Western lower Plains, one of four major divisions of North American that meet in Texas.

The town of Coleman, the county seat, is centrally located in the county. Coleman is approximately longitude 99 25′ west and latitude 31 50′ north. Access is provided by U.S. Highway 84 and 283, State Highway 206, and Farm to market Roads 53, 568, and 2131.  The city is six miles north of U.S. Highway 67 which traverses the state from Texarkana in East Texas to Presidio at the western edge along the Mexican border. Coleman is located thirty miles northwest of Brownwood, fifty-five miles southeast of Abilene, and seventy-five miles northeast of San Angelo.

The economy  is largely agricultural with a strong emphasis on natural resources. Oil, gas, and industry are also very important to the economy of the county.

Several landmarks attract visitors to the area every year including Santana’s Peak in Santa Anna, Camp Colorado, numerous lakes, museums, gift and antique stores, Coleman Country Club, a municipal airport, and an annual PRCA rodeo. Hunting, fishing, and nature tourism continue to be the number one recreational activities offered in Coleman County.